Mixing and looping…

Those of you out there will know that I love to play with music and especially love my old school RnB, such as Bobby Brown, New Edition, Jade and so on. But the times they be changing so music must also evolve as do the dj’s that bring this music to the people. For the past 8 or so months, I’ve been playing with a music mixing program for both Windows and Mac called Mixmeister. Now I know purists out there will only believe that true mixing is on vinyl and vinyl only. They won’t even accept cd’s and mp3’s as a new age medium. And to them I say elitist snobs πŸ™‚ But in all seriousness, bottom line is I don’t have the room or the cash to buy such equipment unfortunately so until that comes around, software mixing it is, despite the limitations that come with it.

I have cranked out a few mixes from the old school which I’ve previously put on the interwebs and will do so again on this blog but for now I will put a link below to my latest mixing effort which I’ve called Beats by L πŸ™‚ First of all, a quick word about the actual music, it’s mainly current chart topping RnB with some past hits and some faster tempo dance tracks here and there just to give it constant beats to keep the feet moving! It’s a mix that took about 1 week to complete from selecting tracks to fine tuning the mixes and then volume and bass levels. Hopefully it’s complete and I’ve picked up on everything, occasionally a glitch slips through the cracks here and there but I’d like to think that I put a lot of work into this mix. Now the title…Beats by L. What does it mean and why that name? Well, I’m a huge fan of the Beats by Dre product range and can’t wait til I have my own headphones but until then I thought I’d give it a name that relates to my interests and likes. And who’s L? Well another of my passions is anime, I love it so much I have an @nime tattoo when I was in Japan! Excessive maybe but it looks good πŸ™‚ L is a major character from an extremely popular anime called Death Note. Follow the links to find more info on both L and Death Note. Being my favourite character I thought there’d be no other way to bring together two of my interests, hence Beats by L was born!

Enough of the background, here’s the tracklist!!

  1. Telephone – Lady Gaga
  2. Missing – Everything But The Girl
  3. Firework – Katy Perry
  4. Who Dat Girl – Flo Rida
  5. Like a G6 – Far East Movement
  6. Krazy – Pitbull
  7. Right Round – Flo Rida
  8. World Hold On – Bob Sinclair
  9. Come Fly Away – Benny Benassi
  10. Spinning The Wheel – George Michael
  11. I Know You Want Me – Pitbull
  12. Shiny Disco Ball – Who Da Funk
  13. Freefallin’ – Zoe Badwi
  14. Beautiful People – Chris Brown
  15. Who’s That Chick – Rhiana/David Guetta
  16. Poison – Nicole Scherzinger
  17. This Time (Dirty Bit) – Black Eyed Peas
  18. Club Can’t Handle Me – Flo Rida
  19. Hey Baby (Drop It To The Floor) – Pitbull
  20. Higher – Taio Cruz
  21. Halo – Beyonce
  22. Beautiful Monster – Ne*Yo
  23. Just Can’t Get Enough – Depeche Mode
  24. Fergalicious – Fergie
  25. Party Rock Anthem – LMAO
  26. On The Floor – Pitbull
  27. Sweat – Snoop Dogg/David Guetta
  28. Jai Ho – Pussycat Dolls
  29. Dirty Talk – Wynter Gordon
  30. Meet Me Halfway – Black Eyed Peas
  31. When Love Takes Over – David Guetta
  32. Hot N Cold – Katy Perry

Running time: 2:07:06 (Two hours of non stop cracking beats!)

L from Death Note

L from Death Note

And finally…how do you get your hands on this mixing goodness?? The link is right HERE

Hope everyone enjoys it and any criticism, hopefully constructive, please leave below as well as general thoughts. Thanks peeps! πŸ™‚

About Japandaman
Founder of japandaman.com, co-host of It's Japan, Man! K-Pop DJ.

Leave a Reply

