Game Bar A Button, Akihabara – An Otaku Experience

>One of the more cooler things I got to experience in Japan was a bar that I had heard about but had no idea where it was. Called the Game Bar A Button in Akihabara, the pics I had seen of it looked cool and very much my kind of bar. I was lucky enough to hook up with a friend of mine in Japan who was going there to film an event and asked if I wanted to tag along…as if I was going to say no?!?!? Pics below…

 

 

 

Tons and tons of controllers from all generations…
Some controllers and consoles I had never seen or heard of 🙂

 

These were not nailed or glued down and no one steals them!! Try doing that in Melbourne before some console geek makes a break for it 😦

 

 

 

 

Manga that you can help yourself to as long as you can the local tongue 🙂

 

Hmm…Panasonic Q…sexy…

 

You had me at Dreamcast…

 

 

 

And the reason why we were all there…for Kikuta San! For the uninitiated, Kikuta San is responsible for the score to Secret of Mana on SNES amongst mnay others, one of the most highly revered RPG’s ever. He’s one of the most in demand and constantly busy composers in Japan and he makes time for his fans by posting where he’s making his announcements on his blog! Who else, big name musician, connects with their fans in such an intimate, and without fanfare, setting??

 

What I was dying over though was to the right of Kikuta San…that’s right…that’s a development Dreamcast. Looks like a PC probably because it ran Windows CE but that, along with Kikuta San, was a MASSIVE highlight. Shout outs to Hiroaki Yura, Director of the Eminence Symphony Orchestra, whi made time to hang with me…the best trip so far 🙂

 

 

I think I might end up posting more of my pics from Japan now that I have the posting bug…there’s tons in interesting pics I have in my collection 🙂

About Japandaman
Founder of japandaman.com, co-host of It's Japan, Man! K-Pop DJ.

Leave a Reply

