Random happenings Sep 3rd – Sep 5th 2010

Thought I’d start this off with some random sightings around town and here and there…

First up, this was spotted at Watergardens Shopping Centre in Taylors Lakes the other night when Laucha and myself went to check out some footwear for her for our upcoming trip to Japan (will be hot there you see).

We ended up having dinner there courtesy of Grill’d which leaves Burger Edge in the dust imo. Best burgers in town!

As a spur of the moment kind of thing, we thought we’d watch a movie and settled on the new Angelina Jolie thriller, Salt.

Was quite gripping but could have been much better to be honest. Walked away feeling that the action scenes could have easily been expanded on…oh well, next time 🙂

Picture of my ginger moggy, Ichigo which we rescued from surely being put down…his mother, Ichigo and his sister, Wednesday were found in a stable. The mother was feral and had to be put down but her kittens or killens as we call them were quite tame. A bit skittish at the start but both brother and sister have settled in nicely. This is a pic of Ichi just kicking back like it’s no one’s business.

Laucha and I were out and about this morning being Father’s Day. Even though I’m a step dad, it’s still acknowledged which gives me warm fuzzy feelings inside. We went out for brunch at Highpoint Shopping Centre and saw these adorable Kimmi Dolls in a shop windows and popped in for a closer look. There were also Ninja Warrior dolls and assorted goodies, Laucha ended up buying me a Ninja Warrior satchel bag (pics next time) which will be handy for carrying our Macbook and other essential items around with me 🙂

After too much walking around we decided to recharge ourselves with a drink, specifically a hot chocolate served by the bald man, Max Brenner. Was my first time there and I have to say…I wasn’t sold. I usually have Koko Black which imo has a far superior flavour. Koko Black tends to use melted chocolate as the base for flavour or at least it tastes like it. It is a far richer drink and usually satisfies your hunger as well.

Last not least, the last thing we did there was go to a little kiosk on the ground floor that does prints on t shirts and hoodies (hooded tops). I write for a new Australian gaming website on the side called Aussie Gamer as Japandaman and thought it would be cool to have a branded t shirt of the site. The reasons are two fold, first I can help raise exposure by wearing it around. Secondly, our family trip to Japan is coinciding with the Tokyo Game Show or TGS. I’ve been fortunate enough to obtain a press pass for the event from site overlord, Ty, for myself and wifey. I’ll be covering the event for A-G as their overseas correspondent which is going to be way cool and give me hands on time with some upcoming games which I can’t wait for! More on this as it gets closer…

For those of you playing at home, it’s T minus 9 days til Japan!!

About Japandaman
Founder of japandaman.com, co-host of It's Japan, Man! K-Pop DJ.

Leave a Reply

